x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
PHARR – The International Food Festival is an opportunity to experience different cultures. The event is held every year... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, January 03 2019 Jan 3, 2019 Thursday, January 03, 2019 2:31:00 PM CST January 03, 2019 in News
ALAMO – It’s described as being the first national wildlife refuge in the Rio Grande Valley. Last month, the... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, January 01 2019 Jan 1, 2019 Tuesday, January 01, 2019 8:53:00 AM CST January 01, 2019 in News
WESLACO – It was their last feast of the holiday season. For 16 years, H-E-B has invited anyone and... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, December 27 2018 Dec 27, 2018 Thursday, December 27, 2018 12:57:00 PM CST December 27, 2018 in News
MCALLEN – Once a year right before the holidays, an event called ‘Santa’s Enchanted Forest’ takes place in McAllen. ... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, December 20 2018 Dec 20, 2018 Thursday, December 20, 2018 10:20:00 AM CST December 20, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
WESLACO – This Friday is the official start of winter and the big question on some Rio Grande Valley residents’... More >>
4 weeks ago Tuesday, December 18 2018 Dec 18, 2018 Tuesday, December 18, 2018 9:26:00 AM CST December 18, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
BROWNSVILLE – Two main types of exhibits are normally found during Christmas time: nativity scenes and holiday villages. The Brownsville... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, December 13 2018 Dec 13, 2018 Thursday, December 13, 2018 11:39:30 AM CST December 13, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
EDINBURG – A Rio Grande Valley man who started as a certified public accountant then later became a lawyer is... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, December 11 2018 Dec 11, 2018 Tuesday, December 11, 2018 10:41:54 AM CST December 11, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
WESLACO– A local man is helping his community by providing a warm meal to low income residents. Alberto Escobedo works... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, December 06 2018 Dec 6, 2018 Thursday, December 06, 2018 10:51:14 AM CST December 06, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
WESLACO – A new veteran’s post has just opened in the Rio Grande Valley. This new post is a beneficial... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, December 04 2018 Dec 4, 2018 Tuesday, December 04, 2018 11:08:02 AM CST December 04, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
MCALLEN – A couple of Rio Grande Valley holiday mysteries CHANNEL 5 NEWS has covered before. One involves a tree... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, November 29 2018 Nov 29, 2018 Thursday, November 29, 2018 1:21:07 PM CST November 29, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
BROWNSVILLE – For a group of ladies in Brownsville, making Christmas tamales is a tradition going on close to seven... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, November 27 2018 Nov 27, 2018 Tuesday, November 27, 2018 8:33:47 AM CST November 27, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
RAYMONDVILLE – As most people prepare for a big Thanksgiving meal, one group works to educate people on how to... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, November 22 2018 Nov 22, 2018 Thursday, November 22, 2018 11:53:40 AM CST November 22, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
PHARR – A Rio Grande Valley school is making sure future generations remember two local veterans. Sergeant Roberto Garcia lost... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, November 20 2018 Nov 20, 2018 Tuesday, November 20, 2018 9:48:54 AM CST November 20, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
ROMA – When he took the job as the head basketball coach, Roma Independent School District was just building its... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, November 15 2018 Nov 15, 2018 Thursday, November 15, 2018 9:18:04 AM CST November 15, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
MCALLEN – Many waited for hours to meet the reality T.V. star who has influenced bakers to follow their dream.... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, November 13 2018 Nov 13, 2018 Tuesday, November 13, 2018 9:18:23 AM CST November 13, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
Radar
7 Days