Home » News » View News

AP Sportlight

Font size

Posted: Apr 18, 2014 7:36 AM

Updated: Apr 18, 2014 7:37 AM

April 19

1897 John J. McDermott wins the first Boston Marathon in 2 hours, 55 minutes, 10 seconds.

1930 Clarence DeMar wins the Boston Marathon for a record seventh time, in 2:34:48.2.

1947 The Toronto Maple Leafs post a 2-1 victory over the Montreal Canadiens to take the Stanley Cup in six games.

1948 Gerard Cote of Canada wins his fourth Boston Marathon with a time of 2:31:02.

1950 Ham Kee Yong, 19, becomes the youngest to win the Boston Marathon, finishing in 2:32:39.

1965 The Boston Celtics have five players score 20 or more points in a 129-123 victory over Los Angeles in Game 2 of the NBA Finals. It's the first time in Finals history there are five 20-point scorers on one team. John Havlicek leads Boston with 24 points, Tom Sanders and Bill Russell score 23, Tommy Heinsohn 22 and Sam Jones 20. Jerry West leads the Lakers with 45.

1982 Alberto Salazaar breaks the 2:09 mark with a record 2:08:51 finish in the Boston Marathon.

1986 Michael Spinks wins a split decision against Larry Holmes to retain the world heavyweight title in Las Vegas.

1991 Evander Holyfield retains the heavyweight title with a unanimous 12-round decision over 42-year-old challenger George Foreman in Atlantic City, N.J.

1992 Michael Jordan of the Chicago Bulls wins his sixth straight NBA scoring title with a 30.1 average.

1993 Kenya's Cosmas N'deti, running his second marathon, beats Kim Jae-Yong of South Korea by 10 seconds to win the Boston Marathon in 2:09.33. Olga Markova of Russia successfully defends her title with a time of 2:25:27.

1998 San Antonio beats Denver 96-82 to set an NBA record for the largest single-season turnaround. The Spurs improve by 36 games from 20 wins in 1997.

1998 Chicago's Michael Jordan scores 44 points to lead the Bulls over the Knicks, 111-109, in the final game of the regular season, securing his record 10th NBA scoring title with a 28.7 points per game average.

2000 Minnesota's Kevin Garnett becomes the ninth player in NBA history to average 20 points, 10 rebounds and five assists in a season. The last to do it was Charles Barkley for Phoenix in 1992-93.

2009 Rafael Nadal becomes the first player to win five straight Monte Carlo Masters titles by beating Novak Djokovic 6-3, 2-6, 6-1. The top-ranked Spaniard, however, loses a set at the clay court tournament for the first time since the 2006 final against Roger Federer.

2010 Kenya's Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot wins the Boston Marathon, breaking the course record with a time of 2:05:52. Ethiopia's Teyba Erkesso wins the women's race in 2:26:11, outsprinting Russia's Tatyana Pushkareva to win by three seconds.

Topics: AP Sportlight

KRGV is Social