Big Sandy P/OF Broch Holmes TSWA 2A player of the year

3 years 7 months 3 weeks ago Tuesday, July 30 2019 Jul 30, 2019 July 30, 2019 6:55 PM July 30, 2019 in Sports - AP - Texas

BRYAN, Texas (AP) - Pitcher/outfielder Broch Holmes, who led Dallardsville Big Sandy to a state championship, is the Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 2A baseball player of the year.

Holmes was 10-1 with a 0.92 earned run average for 36-4 Wildcats. Holmes also batted .529 with eight home runs and 53 RBI, walked 32 times and stole 29 bases.



Pitchers - Brandon Hendrix, Dallardsville Big Sandy, sr.; Jared Kelley, Refugio, jr.; Kolby Parker, Shelbyville, jr.

Relief pitcher - Colten Hesseltine, Refugio, jr.

Catcher - Bowden Hooser, Crawford, sr.

First baseman - Nic Kunze, Linden-Kildare, jr.

Second baseman - Ethan Ramirez, Smyer, soph.

Shortstop - Graden Emmons, Dallardsville Big Sandy, sr.

Third baseman - Dylan Day, Sundown, jr.

Outfielders - Broch Holmes, Dallardsville Big Sandy, sr.; Preston Elam, Clarendon, sr.; (tie) Clay Barton, Weimar, sr., and Justin Lambright, Trenton, sr.

Designated hitter - Nathan Bales, Windthorst, sr.

Player of the year - Holmes, Dallardsville Big Sandy

Coach of the year - Jacob Hooker, Dallardsville Big Sandy


Pitchers - Reid Taylor, Woden, jr.; Dylan Frazier, Hawley, sr.; Otto Wofford, Mason, sr.

Relief pitcher - McKane Maxwell, Dallardsville Big Sandy, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Brody Black, Sundown, sr., and Garrett Lilley, Dallardsville Big Sandy, sr.

First baseman - (tie) Baylor Augustus, Rivercrest, sr., and Aaron Kohring, Burton, sr.

Second baseman - (tie) Brady Branson, Hale Center, sr., and Noah Elam, Clarendon, sr.; Carson Fuentes, McCamey, sr.

Shortstop - (tie) Austin Ochoa, Refugio, jr., and Chase Keeton, Valley Mills, sr.

Third baseman - Bryan Duff, Dallardsville Big Sandy, sr.

Outfielders - Omar Ortega, Bland, sr.; Brady Blue, Kerens, sr.; Garrett Hewitt, Hawley, sr.

Designated hitter - Khristian Goree, Woden, sr.


Pitchers - Jacob Owen, Linden-Kildare, sr.; Zach Conde, Hawkins, soph.; Cade Neve, Albany, soph.

Relief pitcher - Mason Johnson, Linden-Kildare, soph.

Catcher - Jagger Vaughn, Iola, sr.

First baseman - Landry Bruce, Crawford, sr.

Second baseman - Cy Belcher, Windthorst, soph.

Shortstop - (tie) Conner Byrd, Archer City, sr., and Cole Ferguson, Shelbyville, sr.

Third baseman - (tie) Elijah Degrate, Valley Mills, jr., and Michael Falcon, Brackettville, jr.

Outfielders - Joshua Martin, Como Pickton, sr.; Garrett Pearson, Crawford, soph.; Bryn Roberts, Iola, sr.

Designated hitter - Caden Leschber, Thrall, jr.

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More News

7 Days