FSA loans open to 31 Louisiana parishes, 9 counties

2 years 7 months 3 weeks ago Friday, February 22 2019 Feb 22, 2019 February 22, 2019 2:56 AM February 22, 2019 in News - AP Texas Headlines

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated nine Louisiana parishes as a disaster area because of rains and flooding from Sept. 1 through Dec. 10.

Farmers and ranchers in 22 adjacent parishes in Louisiana, five counties in Arkansas and four in Texas also can apply for Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

A Thursday news release says such loans can be used to replace essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganize a farming operation or refinance some debts.

Bossier, Caddo, Evangeline, Grant, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Pointe Coupee, Rapides and Red River parishes are the primary disaster areas.

The application deadline is Oct. 15.

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More News

7 Days