North Carolina headlines 2020 Maui Invitational field

1 year 10 months 3 weeks ago Thursday, April 04 2019 Apr 4, 2019 April 04, 2019 1:56 PM April 04, 2019 in Sports - AP - Texas

LAHAINA, Hawaii (AP) - North Carolina is returning to headline another strong Maui Invitational field in 2020.

The Tar Heels will be joined at the Lahaina Civic Center by Alabama, Davidson, Indiana, Providence, Stanford, Texas and UNLV.

North Carolina won the Maui title in 2016 before going on to win the national championship. Providence won the inaugural Maui Invitational in 1984.

The field has combined for 13 national championships and 39 Final Four berths.

Host Chaminade will not be in the 2020 field. The Silverswords are in the 2019 field after switching to every other year in the bracket.

Auburn is in this year's Final Four after playing in Maui last November. Gonzaga won the 2018 title.

More AP college basketball: https://apnews.com/MarchMadness and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More News

7 Days