Texas Tech's Beard named AP men's college coach of the year

2 years 2 months 1 week ago Thursday, April 04 2019 Apr 4, 2019 April 04, 2019 3:04 PM April 04, 2019 in News - AP Texas Headlines

AP Basketball Writer

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) - Texas Tech's Chris Beard has guided his team to its first Final Four appearance and now has a top coaching honor to go with it.

Beard has been named The Associated Press men's college basketball coach of the year. He earned 20 of 64 votes from AP Top 25 voters who submitted ballots before the start of the NCAA Tournament.

Beard's team won a share of the Big 12 regular season title for the first time, then pushed past No. 1 seed Gonzaga to win the West Region and earn a ticket to Minneapolis.

Houston's Kelvin Sampson was second with 13 votes after the Cougars finished with a program-record 33 wins before losing in the Sweet 16.

They were the only coaches to receive at least 10 votes.


Chris Beard, Texas Tech - 20

Kelvin Sampson, Houston - 13

Mike Young, Wofford - 6

Nate Oats, Buffalo - 5

Rick Barnes, Tennessee - 4

Tony Bennett, Virginia - 3

Mark Few, Gonzaga - 3

Tom Izzo, Michigan State - 2

Matt Painter, Purdue - 2

Roy Williams, North Carolina - 2

John Beilein, Michigan - 1

Mike Krzyzewski, Duke - 1

Matt Langel, Colgate - 1

Eric Musselman, Nevada - 1

More AP college basketball: https://apnews.com/MarchMadness and http://www.twitter.com/AP_Top25

Follow Aaron Beard on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/aaronbeardap

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More News

7 Days