Deadline to pay base taxes in Texas is January 31st
EDINBURG – If you own property in Texas, time is running out for you to pay your base. Property owners have until Jan. 31 to pay up, otherwise they will get a penalty.
Pablo Villarreal, Hidalgo County tax collector, told CHANNEL 5 NEWS only about 40% of the people in Hidalgo County have paid.
"If you don't pay by January 31, then automatically February 1 you're looking at a 7% penalty in interest. I’ll give you an example. Let's say that you have a couple of properties and they total to $10,000, well in February 1 you are looking about 7% which is about $700," says Villarreal.
Villarreal says you can pay online or at a local bank. To learn more stop by your local tax office or visit the Hidalgo County Tax Office website.
Some homeowners struggling to make mortage payments after Hurricane Hanna
Contact tracers play key role in effort to contain COVID-19
Valley Made, Local Strong: RGV Lighting & Lettuce Eat
Decrease in demand for coronavirus testing in the Valley
Valley Vietnam veteran thankful to free standing ER after beating coronavirus