Argyle's Carter, Canton's Krawietz 4A players of the year

3 years 4 months 6 days ago Thursday, August 01 2019 Aug 1, 2019 August 01, 2019 7:38 PM August 01, 2019 in Sports - AP - Texas

BRYAN, Texas (AP) - Argyle pitcher/outfielder Dillon Carter and Canton pitcher/shortstop Johnnie Krawietz shared Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 4A baseball player of the year honors.

Krawietz was 12-0, allowing two runs, both unearned. He threw a state-record 58 scoreless innings and struck out 125 in 67.2 innings. Krawietz also batted .439 with three home runs and 51 RBI.

Carter batted .400 with 23 RBI and scored 57 runs in helping Argyle win state. The Texas Tech signee also was 3-0 on the mound with a 0.43 ERA and five saves.


Pitchers - Johnnie Krawietz, Canton, sr.; Chad Ricker, Argyle, sr.; Chase Hampton, Kilgore, jr.

Relief pitcher - (tie) Dillon Carter, Argyle, sr. and Clayton Chadwick, La Vernia, sr.

Catcher - Travler Moore, Fort Worth Benbrook, sr.

First baseman - Chris Morrow, Waco Robinson, sr.

Second baseman - Preston King, Argyle, sr.

Shortstop - Gus Witt, Kilgore, sr.

Third baseman - Joe Effenberger, Sweeny, sr.

Outfielders - Hayden Clearman, Argyle, sr.; Douglas Hodo, Boerne, sr.; (tie) Caeden Trenkle, Hillsboro, sr., and Blayne Clower, Canton, sr.

Designated hitter - Reed Smith, Lufkin Hudson, sr.

Player of the Year - (tie) Carter, Argyle, and Krawietz, Canton

Coach of the Year - Ricky Griffin, Argyle


Pitchers - Wyatt Cheney, Liberty Hill, sr.; Ryan Galvan, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, sr.; Chris Dickens, Iowa Park, sr.

Relief pitcher - Marshall Oubre, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Peyton Powell, Waco Robinson, sr., and Khalon Clayton, Kilgore, sr.

First baseman - Dylan Theut, Lamar Fulshear, sr.

Second baseman - Brooks Howson, Fort Worth Benbrook, jr.

Shortstop - Rawley Hector, Anna, soph.

Third baseman - Payton Poole, Fort Worth Benbrook, soph.

Outfielders - Easton Slovacek, Waco Robinson, jr.; Cade Conway, Paris North Lamar, sr.; Simon Miller, Canton, sr.

Designated hitter - Johnny Gomez, Lubbock Estacado, jr.


Pitchers - Jackson Kiddy, Sweeny, sr.; Devin Bennett, Fort Worth Benbrook, soph.; (tie) Seth Smith, Carthage, sr., and Colton Bowman, Bullard, sr.

Relief pitcher - (tie) Braxton Briones, Iowa Park, sr., and Caden Homniok, Sweeny, sr.

Catcher - (tie) Julian Brock, Lamar Fulshear, sr., and Brett Cobb, Canyon, sr.

First baseman - Trent Green, Iowa Park, jr.

Second baseman - Dalton Kramer, Devine, jr.

Shortstop - Brenden Dixon, Argyle, sr.

Third baseman - Braxton Hackar, Farmersville, sr.

Outfielders - Zack Betancourt, Levelland, jr.; Zack Robinson, Pampa, jr.; Alex Gonzales, Argyle, jr.

Designated hitter - Hunter Kelley, Sealy, sr.

Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More News

7 Days