La Joya's Sergio Castillo Helps Lead Winnipeg to Grey Cup Title

La Joya's Sergio Castillo Helps Lead Winnipeg to Grey Cup Title
2 years 7 months 11 hours ago Tuesday, December 14 2021 Dec 14, 2021 December 14, 2021 12:10 AM December 14, 2021 in Sports

HAMILTON, Ontario (AP) — The Winnipeg Blue Bombers beat the Hamilton Tiger-Cats 33-25 in overtime on Sunday night to repeat as Canadian Football League’s Grey Cup champions.

La Joya native Sergio Castillo connected on all five of his field goal attempts to help lead the Blue Bomber combeack. Castillo returned to the CFL after playing part of the 2020 season with the New York Jets.

Zach Collaros threw a 13-yard touchdown pass to Darvin Adams for Winnipeg in overtime. After throwing to Adams to cap the opening possession of the extra session, Collaros, the CFL’s outstanding player, found Rasheed Bailey for a two-point conversion.

Kyrie Wilson sealed Winnipeg’s victory by intercepting Hamilton’s Jeremiah Masoli, whose pass deflected off two defenders, on the ensuing possession.

Hamilton forced overtime when Michael Domagala kicked a 13-yard field goal with four seconds remaining. It came after Winnipeg’s Deatrick Nichols batted down Masoli’s second-down pass to Jaelon Acklin.

Winnipeg rallied from a 19-10 deficit heading into the fourth quarter.

Masoli entered the game in the second quarter with Hamilton trailing 7-0. He replaced starter Dane Evans, who suffered an apparent neck injury after falling under two Bombers on a 1-yard run.

Masoli finished 20 of 25 passing for 185 yards with two TDs and an interception. Collaros completed 21 of 32 passes for 240 yards with two touchdowns and two interceptions.

Hamilton’s last Grey Cup win came in 1999.

Winnipeg becomes the first CFL team to win consecutive Grey Cups since the Montreal Alouettes (2009-10). The Bombers also recorded consecutive Grey Cups victories for the third time, but first since 1961-62.

More News

7 Days