Runoff Election Set for Weslaco Commissioner's Seat

Related Story

UPDATE (7/17): The following are the unofficial final results for the Weslaco special election Tuesday:

Roy Hernandez Jr – 61
Adrian Farias – 285
Lupe Garcia- 175
Humberto Chavez - 123

A runoff election is set between Farias and Garcia for Tuesday, Aug. 27.


WESLACO – Early voting totals show over 500 people have already cast their ballot in Tuesday's election.

This special election will fill the vacated seat for Weslaco Commissioner District 4 Seat.

The election comes after former Weslaco Commissioner Gerardo Tafolla pleaded guilty to one count of bribery in April.

He resigned shortly after that.

The following are the results for early voting: 

Roy Hernandez Jr – 53
Adrian Farias – 221
Lupe Garcia- 140
Humberto Chavez - 91


7 Days