McAllen mayoral race headed to run-off election

Related Story

With McAllen Mayor Jim Darling deciding not to seek re-election this year, five people were on the ballot to replace him.

Though one of them received the most votes, the race is headed to a run-off.

The two candidates who will face off in the run-off election next month – Javier Villalobos and Veronica Vela Whitacre – have city commission experience.

Unofficial election results show Villalobos, the city’s current District 1 city commissioner - received the most support with 2,610 votes. 

"We need a fiscally responsible government because our taxpayer money should be spent wisely and that's something I've done before,” Villalobos said. “I always will so I tell them, look you elect me as your mayor, and that's what's going to happen."

Vela-Whitacre received 2,381 votes. As of Saturday night she has not responded to a request for comment.  

McAllen Mayor

Veronica Vela Whitacre 2,381 votes
Michael A. Fallek 2,269 votes
Javier Villalobos 2,610 votes
Othal E. Brand Jr. 1,749 votes
Shahid Rashid 1,041 votes


7 Days