x

Con Mi Gente

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
While other entertainment venues are just opening up, the WesMer drive-in theater is drawing a crowd. As coronavirus cases... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, June 02 2020 Jun 2, 2020 Tuesday, June 02, 2020 6:52:00 AM CDT June 02, 2020 in News
Many Rio Grande Valley students are celebrating their graduating seniors with a caravan parade. The teachers and staff greeted... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 28 2020 May 28, 2020 Thursday, May 28, 2020 7:20:00 AM CDT May 28, 2020 in News
Harlingen musician, Ruben Garza, once toured the country with two legendary bands. In 1978 Garza joined the legendary Los... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 26 2020 May 26, 2020 Tuesday, May 26, 2020 8:12:00 AM CDT May 26, 2020 in News
In Rio Grande City, the community united for a food distribution event. Many people came out to help distribute... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, May 21 2020 May 21, 2020 Thursday, May 21, 2020 7:20:00 AM CDT May 21, 2020 in News
Hair salons and barber shops reopened doors over two weeks ago. For Alberto Esco, a well-known barber in Rio... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, May 19 2020 May 19, 2020 Tuesday, May 19, 2020 6:43:00 AM CDT May 19, 2020 in News
The coronavirus outbreak prompted stay at home orders across the Rio Grande Valley – now some residents are sharing their... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 14 2020 May 14, 2020 Thursday, May 14, 2020 7:12:00 AM CDT May 14, 2020 in News
Helen Vogel, born and raised in Mercedes, turned 100 years old this year. She lived through the Hurricane of... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 12 2020 May 12, 2020 Tuesday, May 12, 2020 6:54:00 AM CDT May 12, 2020 in News
The Pharr-San Juan-Alamo superintendent made a house visit to celebrate the district's teachers of the year. PSJA Secondary Teacher... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, May 07 2020 May 7, 2020 Thursday, May 07, 2020 7:33:00 AM CDT May 07, 2020 in News
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND — Beaches at South Padre Island are open once again. Life at the island leading up to... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 05 2020 May 5, 2020 Tuesday, May 05, 2020 4:23:00 PM CDT May 05, 2020 in News
An instructional software specialist at Sharyland Independent School District hosts his own internet show and has been referred to as... More >>
3 months ago Monday, May 04 2020 May 4, 2020 Monday, May 04, 2020 3:26:00 PM CDT May 04, 2020 in News
Rene and Maria Elena Corbeil, husband and wife, are both professors at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley in... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 28 2020 Apr 28, 2020 Tuesday, April 28, 2020 6:56:00 AM CDT April 28, 2020 in News
With shelter in place orders in effect amid the coronavirus outbreak, many businesses have been forced to close. One... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 23 2020 Apr 23, 2020 Thursday, April 23, 2020 7:01:00 AM CDT April 23, 2020 in News
For over a month, classrooms have been empty. School hallways, silent. Teachers, now, giving instructions online. At the Region... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 21 2020 Apr 21, 2020 Tuesday, April 21, 2020 2:15:00 PM CDT April 21, 2020 in News
Relatives of the lives lost at the worst train and truck accident in history 80 years ago spoke out at... More >>
3 months ago Thursday, April 16 2020 Apr 16, 2020 Thursday, April 16, 2020 7:36:00 AM CDT April 16, 2020 in News
ALAMO – Eighty years ago, 34 farm workers died when their truck was hit by a train in Alamo –... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, April 14 2020 Apr 14, 2020 Tuesday, April 14, 2020 7:33:00 AM CDT April 14, 2020 in News

Radar
7 Days