x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
BROWNSVILLE – For 83 years, Charro Days has held the biggest celebration in Brownsville. It's a celebration of the... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, February 06 2020 Feb 6, 2020 Thursday, February 06, 2020 6:52:00 AM CST February 06, 2020 in News
MCALLEN – Everyone in town is invited to ‘Walk with the Mayor’ – an event intended to make you a... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, February 04 2020 Feb 4, 2020 Tuesday, February 04, 2020 6:46:00 AM CST February 04, 2020 in News
EDINBURG – For over two years Brandon Ramirez would get up at 4:30 a.m. and ride his bicycle across the... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, January 30 2020 Jan 30, 2020 Thursday, January 30, 2020 5:59:00 AM CST January 30, 2020 in News
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND – South Padre Island is the place to go to fly a kite over the weekend for... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, January 28 2020 Jan 28, 2020 Tuesday, January 28, 2020 5:58:00 AM CST January 28, 2020 in News
SAN ISIDRO – A church in San Isidro, built around 1920, is now collapsing. The Guadalupe- El Toreo Church... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 23 2020 Jan 23, 2020 Thursday, January 23, 2020 6:52:00 AM CST January 23, 2020 in Community - Con Mi Gente
WESLACO – Nature photography is a hobby that is becoming increasingly popular. The Estero Llano Grande State Park in... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 21 2020 Jan 21, 2020 Tuesday, January 21, 2020 6:46:00 AM CST January 21, 2020 in News
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND – For 22-years people at South Padre Island have been doing what they call 'the polar bear... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 16 2020 Jan 16, 2020 Thursday, January 16, 2020 5:52:00 AM CST January 16, 2020 in News
LOS FRESNOS – Most of the young musicians at the Los Fresnos Elementary had never played a musical instrument before.... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 14 2020 Jan 14, 2020 Tuesday, January 14, 2020 5:48:00 AM CST January 14, 2020 in News
BROWNSVILLE - The University of Texas Longhorns and the Texas A&M Aggies are sitting down together again at the same... More >>
1 month ago Friday, January 10 2020 Jan 10, 2020 Friday, January 10, 2020 8:19:00 PM CST January 10, 2020 in Community - Con Mi Gente
LA GLORIA - The bullfights in La Gloria in north Starr County have been a big attraction for many years.... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 09 2020 Jan 9, 2020 Thursday, January 09, 2020 6:23:00 AM CST January 09, 2020 in News
EDINBURG - The South Texas Motorcycle Museum in Edinburg is one of the Rio Grande Valley's hidden jewels. It... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 07 2020 Jan 7, 2020 Tuesday, January 07, 2020 6:45:00 AM CST January 07, 2020 in News
MERCEDES – Some may remember the old Valley Citrus and Vegetable Show, where 4-H and FFA member would visit local... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, December 31 2019 Dec 31, 2019 Tuesday, December 31, 2019 12:33:00 PM CST December 31, 2019 in News
RIO GRANDE CITY – The community comes together during the holidays with the goal of having fun, while at the... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, December 26 2019 Dec 26, 2019 Thursday, December 26, 2019 5:46:00 AM CST December 26, 2019 in Community - Con Mi Gente
ELSA – A Rio Grande Valley veteran was living in a home that was in need of some major help.... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, December 24 2019 Dec 24, 2019 Tuesday, December 24, 2019 5:43:00 AM CST December 24, 2019 in Community - Con Mi Gente
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND - There have been holiday events in almost every city in the Rio Grande Valley. At... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, December 19 2019 Dec 19, 2019 Thursday, December 19, 2019 5:36:00 AM CST December 19, 2019 in Community - Con Mi Gente

Radar
7 Days