x

Con Mi Gente

Airs Tuesdays and Thursdays on CHANNEL 5 NEWS THIS MORNING and CHANNEL 5 NEWS at 5

It's been said that everybody has a story. And that is especially true in the Rio Grande Valley.

CHANNEL 5's Rick Diaz travels from Roma to Brownsville to Raymondville and every city in between looking for these interesting people.

They're people who have a passion for what they do and love to share their labors with the rest of us. They range from the man who raised a bobcat kitten with his other cats and dogs to the district attorney who still drives the Volkswagen he had in college.

These are the stories of your neighbors, your friends, and your relatives.

If you have a story idea for Con Mi Gente, email it to rickD@krgv.com.

Con Mi Gente News

Grid
List
SOUTH PADRE ISLAND – If you’re heading to South Padre Island this weekend, be sure to look up at the... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, January 31 2019 Jan 31, 2019 Thursday, January 31, 2019 8:56:00 AM CST January 31, 2019 in News
ALAMO – He’s been on dialysis for five years, now his daughter is organizing a 5K run to raise money... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, January 29 2019 Jan 29, 2019 Tuesday, January 29, 2019 8:12:00 AM CST January 29, 2019 in News
MERCEDES – Standing by themselves wild horses look gentle. In fact, they tend to look back at your wondering... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, January 24 2019 Jan 24, 2019 Thursday, January 24, 2019 1:06:00 PM CST January 24, 2019 in News
PHARR – The construction of a new hike and bike trail is coming along as planned. It will have... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, January 22 2019 Jan 22, 2019 Tuesday, January 22, 2019 3:20:00 PM CST January 22, 2019 in News
RIO GRANDE CITY – A local tour allows people to see the history of Rio Grande City. The Bessie... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 17 2019 Jan 17, 2019 Thursday, January 17, 2019 10:33:00 AM CST January 17, 2019 in News
MISSION – The citrus industry is in the middle of a busy season. Oranges and grapefruits that are picked... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 15 2019 Jan 15, 2019 Tuesday, January 15, 2019 1:50:00 PM CST January 15, 2019 in News
EDINBURG – A Rio Grande Valley woman has taken the oath to become the first female Chief Justice of the... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 15 2019 Jan 15, 2019 Tuesday, January 15, 2019 10:24:00 AM CST January 15, 2019 in News
MISSION – The citrus industry runs deep in a Rio Grande Valley farmer’s DNA. Richard Shull has seen big... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 08 2019 Jan 8, 2019 Tuesday, January 08, 2019 9:09:00 AM CST January 08, 2019 in News
PHARR – The International Food Festival is an opportunity to experience different cultures. The event is held every year... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, January 03 2019 Jan 3, 2019 Thursday, January 03, 2019 2:31:00 PM CST January 03, 2019 in News
ALAMO – It’s described as being the first national wildlife refuge in the Rio Grande Valley. Last month, the... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, January 01 2019 Jan 1, 2019 Tuesday, January 01, 2019 8:53:00 AM CST January 01, 2019 in News
WESLACO – It was their last feast of the holiday season. For 16 years, H-E-B has invited anyone and... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, December 27 2018 Dec 27, 2018 Thursday, December 27, 2018 12:57:00 PM CST December 27, 2018 in News
MCALLEN – Once a year right before the holidays, an event called ‘Santa’s Enchanted Forest’ takes place in McAllen. ... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, December 20 2018 Dec 20, 2018 Thursday, December 20, 2018 10:20:00 AM CST December 20, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
WESLACO – This Friday is the official start of winter and the big question on some Rio Grande Valley residents’... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, December 18 2018 Dec 18, 2018 Tuesday, December 18, 2018 9:26:00 AM CST December 18, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
BROWNSVILLE – Two main types of exhibits are normally found during Christmas time: nativity scenes and holiday villages. The Brownsville... More >>
2 months ago Thursday, December 13 2018 Dec 13, 2018 Thursday, December 13, 2018 11:39:30 AM CST December 13, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente
EDINBURG – A Rio Grande Valley man who started as a certified public accountant then later became a lawyer is... More >>
2 months ago Tuesday, December 11 2018 Dec 11, 2018 Tuesday, December 11, 2018 10:41:54 AM CST December 11, 2018 in Community - Con Mi Gente

Radar
7 Days